Posted by: robinsonwarner | August 20, 2008

The Facebook Email

I don’t know if anyone else has this problem, but I need to throw this out into the universe.  Does anyone else get emails from Facebook letting them know that their “friends” have voted on your strengths and weaknesses?  And then in the email it lets you know that people have collectively judged you based on some sort of intimate knowledge they have of your soul and its characteristics?  Am I taking crazy pills?  I literally get an email about every two days or so letting me know that my Facebook friends think my strengths and weaknesses are yadda yadda yadda.

The strengths as well as the weaknesses are pretty generic, but regardless of this fact, odds are that they are completely full of it.  I mean if all these Facebook friends of mine think my strength is “best catch” and “best sense of humor” (as an example), wouldn’t the logic follow that I might be swimming in hot chicks wanting to hang out with me?  I assure you I’m not swimming.  But seriously though,  isn’t that theoretically what all girls want?  Well if you read my post Asshole Darwinism, you will hopefully agree this isn’t the case.

Now it isn’t the strengths that bother me as much as my listed weaknesses.  On an email I received nigh one hour ago it listed my weaknesses as “happiest” and “most talkative”.  I feel like this is the equivalent of when someone is talking about an ugly person and they say, “She’s got a great personality”.

Now the reason this is the so important is because I NEED  to know if I’m the only person getting these emails or not.  If I am indeed the only Facebook member getting these emails it means that there are subtle reminders shooting into my Gmail account every two days telling me I talk too fucking much and I piss people off by being too happy all the time.  I think I just need to know I’m not the only one, and if I am…. well fuck you Facebook community.  I bring joy and cheer to the world.

I would like to take this opportunity to apologize to my dear friend Dallas who I publicly, albeit unintentionally, vilified via a response to his very astute observation that contradicted some of my logic from The Robinson Challenge.  Dallas my friend, there is something you must understand, I lived with my very loving, but ideologically different Republican roommates for two years.  So when politics came up it was about six on one.  When politics comes up I’m a little bit like a six year old who has just been blindfolded in order to hit a pinata.  I run to the front of the line and I just start swinging fast and furious for the pinata but sometimes end up hitting someone’s dad in the balls.  I get so eager to get my licks in on that metaphorical pinata that sometimes I miss the mark or swing to hard and hit the wrong thing if you catch my drift.  My sincerest of apologies.

But seriously though, let me know if this Strengths and Weaknesses bullshit is happening to anyone else.  I’m kind of freaking out.

Responses

  1. I haven’t touched my facebook profile in at least a year, so when somebody told me they’d given me a “bumper sticker” I was very much confused while trying to remember what exactly was on the back of my car.

  2. I think you just have to go into your account, and change your notification emails preferences…I don’t get any emails from them. Hope it helps!

  3. buddy i don’t get those emails. i feel like i used to though…im not sure what happened but they stopped all of the sudden haha


Leave a Reply

Categories

