Posted by: robinsonwarner | October 4, 2008

Small Victories Part II

I’m sure Tom explained what the purpose of this series of posts is about.  So, without further ado, here are some more small victories.

The Serendipitous Left Hand Turn – If you’re driving somewhere and generaly you have to not be thinking about it, you ever so often get that coveted left hand turn arrow.  You can then avoid that five minute wait for two more lights to change.

The Order Confirmation – I was out to dinner with my parents in downtown New Orleans the other night.  I ordered my dinner and as I finished, my waiter ever so smoothly stated, “Excellent choice, sir.”  I was taken aback, looked at him, and smiled.  I thought to myself, “Fucking right  that was a good choice.” 

The Surprise Joke – Have you ever told a joke that was kind of quiet or you didn’t really expect it to be that funny?  Well I do it at least 6732 times a day because I can’t stop talking.  However, every once in a while you will make a really silly comment that strikes the right chord in someone and they will think it is the funniest thing ever.  You feel like a combination of Don Rickles and Dave Chappelle when this does happen.

The Free Food – Free food.  That’s it.

The Good Tip – The universe doesn’t hand you this so much as you hand it to the universe.  This is a small victory you can create yourself when you leave a disproportionately large tip for your waiter/waitress and they then ask you if you’d like change and just get to casually say “Nope.  We’re all set.”  You know you made that person’s night or at least contributed to a good one by not tipping them strictly fifteen percent.  Plus it might make up for all the assholes who don’t tip well.

Leave a Reply

Categories

